Share |

Sustainability Leadership Awards  Honoring people, organizations & companies transforming the built environment in Louisiana.

Nominations are due April 24, 2017.  Nominate someone today!

Download packet here


Class of 2016

Community Champion

Cynthia Lee-Sheng

Jefferson Parish Council                                                                        

As an inspiring advocate for healthy, family-friendly communities Ms.Lee-Sheng is leading Jefferson Parish forward towards greater sustainability and a more resilient future.

Erin Ryerson, Cynthi Lee-Sheng, and Amber Beezley


Community Championship Team

Sterling University Housing                       

Sterling has committed to pursing LEED Gold Certification on 100% of their projects.  They have just completed their first LEED Platinum Multi-family Housing project in Louisiana in Baton Rouge.

Amber Beezley, Don Brooks, and Sophia Estalles



Innovation Champion    

Trash To Treasure

Tulane University

Students have created an organization to collect discarded furniture and dorm decor to be sold to and reused by new students.  The left over furniture is donated to charity and money is donated to local non-profits.  For identifying a campus sustainability issue and creating an innovated solution, T2T is this year's Innovation Champion.


Operational Excellence Champion

Byron Patterson

Southeastern Louisiana University                                               

Physical Plant Services Director Byron Patterson is dedicated to making the SLU campus as energy efficient as possible. The facility department has established a Sustainability Center to engage students, campus stakeholders, and the public in learning about the sustainable strategies being implemented at the University.  The center is a LEED registered project.

Byron Patterson, Shanon Stage, and Amber Beezley  


Legacy Award   

Chris Bankston

The chapter's first Legacy Award recipient was instrumental in the formation of the chapter, served as its first board chair, and continues to volunteer today. 

Shannon Stage, Chris Bankston, Amber Beezley




2014 Honorees

Community Champion:  Eryn Ryerson, CBRE, New Orleans

Championship Team:  ULL School of Architecture & Design, Lafayette

Innovation Champion:  Roy O Martin Companies, Alexandria

Operational Excellence Champion:  Green Coast Enterprises, New Orleans

2013 Honorees

Community Champion:  Julie Wexford, Harry Hurst Middle School, Destrahan

Community Champion:  Davis Rhorer, Downtown Development District, Baton Rouge

Championship Team:  Elizabeth Brooks and Save the Farm, Lafayette

Innovation Champion:  Greater New Orleans Foundation & Urban Water Institute, New Orleans

2012 Honorees

Community Champion: Eddie Cazayoux, EnvironMental Design, Lafayette

Community Championship Team: Moses Engineers, New Orleans

Innovation Champion: Global Green, USA, New Orleans

Operational Excellence Champions: Tulane Green Machine and Webster Parish School Board & Storer Building Services, Shreveport